As for me, I am tormented with an everlasting itch for things remote. I love to sail forbidden seas, and land on barbarous coasts.

On any journey, no matter how short or long, there comes a point where a decision must be made.  Where the costs of continuing forward are outweighed by the costs of turning about and returning home.

At that point, you find you must commit yourself to one course of an action or another, and you have to stake everything on the outcome of that decision, come what may.

I fear I’m drawing close to such a point in my travels, as I draw close to parallel with the galactic core, and will reach it in less than 10,000 light years or so.

At that point I’ll be a quarter of the way around the galaxy from where I started.  The galactic arm ahead of me will begin to curl in, towards the core, towards home, whilst beyond it, a vast desolate expanse and then the outer reaches of the Scutum-Centaurus arm.

Which path to take? On the one hand, the prospect of travelling home is very alluring, and I’m sure both myself and the ship could benefit from a little rest.

Then again, circumnavigation, to be amongst the first to make that 220,000 light year journey,, to have made it home by travelling the long way round, would be an incredible achievment.

The choice was not an easy one, and Dr; Noesis was glad he had a little time yet left to make it, though still wished he had ore timel even if only a few minutes or so.

I know not all that may be coming, but be it what it will, I’ll go to it laughing.” – H Melville

Leave a Reply

